Page 1 of 4

System hangs

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:54 pm
by tarmacalastair
Twice this evening my browser has hung when attempting to browse the channel listing in LiveTV. When I then navigate to the System page at the top of the menu I am greeted with a message to say that I need to start the Quick Setup Wizard again.

I have powered off the Vbox and then restarted it and got the same problem 30 minutes later.

Please advise. I have taken some screeenshots and logs that I can provide. But I can only add 3 files to this post and they can only be small files so please advise.

Thanks

Alastair

I've also tried twice to log this on the Contact Support page but every time I get the 504 Gateway Timeout message.

Re: System hangs

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:04 pm
by tarmacalastair
Here's a snippet from the log. Hundreds of occurences of most of these lines.


Apr 21 23:11:27 vboxDaemon: (589) [PLATFORM] [E] PGMDATAi_ProcessPackets(0): ERROR !!! CAN'T GET Free buffer from adptse !!!
Apr 21 23:11:27 vboxDaemon: (789) [VBADPTSE] [C] ADPTSE_GetFreeBuffer() - no more free buffers left for tuner=0 slotNum=0
Apr 21 23:11:27 vboxDaemon: (789) [PLATFORM] [E] PGMDATAi_ProcessPackets(0): ERROR !!! CAN'T GET Free buffer from adptse !!!
Apr 21 23:11:27 vboxDaemon: (989) [VBADPTSE] [C] ADPTSE_GetFreeBuffer() - no more free buffers left for tuner=0 slotNum=0
Apr 21 23:11:27 vboxDaemon: (989) [PLATFORM] [E] PGMDATAi_ProcessPackets(0): ERROR !!! CAN'T GET Free buffer from adptse !!!
Apr 21 23:11:28 vboxDaemon: (189) [VBADPTSE] [C] ADPTSE_GetFreeBuffer() - no more free buffers left for tuner=0 slotNum=0
Apr 21 23:11:28 vboxDaemon: (189) [PLATFORM] [E] PGMDATAi_ProcessPackets(0): ERROR !!! CAN'T GET Free buffer from adptse !!!
Apr 21 23:11:28 vboxDaemon: (389) [VBADPTSE] [C] ADPTSE_GetFreeBuffer() - no more free buffers left for tuner=0 slotNum=0
Apr 21 23:11:28 vboxDaemon: (389) [PLATFORM] [E] PGMDATAi_ProcessPackets(0): ERROR !!! CAN'T GET Free buffer from adptse !!!
Apr 21 23:11:28 HttpControlApp: (552) [XLVPROXY] [C] XLVProxy::Submit(7bcf5194:4766:10904) - Failed Timeout getting response(3)
Apr 21 23:11:28 HttpControlApp: (552) [HTTP_CTL] [E] Failed to connect to Streamer Service
Apr 21 23:11:28 HttpControlApp: (554) [HTTP_CTL] [A] HTTP Control QueryDataBaseVersion exited
Apr 21 23:11:28 vboxDaemon: (589) [VBADPTSE] [C] ADPTSE_GetFreeBuffer() - no more free buffers left for tuner=0 slotNum=0
Apr 21 23:11:28 vboxDaemon: (589) [PLATFORM] [E] PGMDATAi_ProcessPackets(0): ERROR !!! CAN'T GET Free buffer from adptse !!!
Apr 21 23:11:28 ManageApp: (671) [XLVPROXY] [C] XLVProxy::Submit(7bcaef88:4768:6341) - Failed Timeout getting response(3)
Apr 21 23:11:28 vboxDaemon: (789) [VBADPTSE] [C] ADPTSE_GetFreeBuffer() - no more free buffers left for tuner=0 slotNum=0
Apr 21 23:11:28 vboxDaemon: (789) [PLATFORM] [E] PGMDATAi_ProcessPackets(0): ERROR !!! CAN'T GET Free buffer from adptse !!!
Apr 21 23:11:28 vboxDaemon: (989) [VBADPTSE] [C] ADPTSE_GetFreeBuffer() - no more free buffers left for tuner=0 slotNum=0
Apr 21 23:11:28 vboxDaemon: (989) [PLATFORM] [E] PGMDATAi_ProcessPackets(0): ERROR !!! CAN'T GET Free buffer from adptse !!!
Apr 21 23:11:29 vboxDaemon: (189) [VBADPTSE] [C] ADPTSE_GetFreeBuffer() - no more free buffers left for tuner=0 slotNum=0
Apr 21 23:11:29 vboxDaemon: (189) [PLATFORM] [E] PGMDATAi_ProcessPackets(0): ERROR !!! CAN'T GET Free buffer from adptse !!!
Apr 21 23:11:29 vboxDaemon: (389) [VBADPTSE] [C] ADPTSE_GetFreeBuffer() - no more free buffers left for tuner=0 slotNum=0
Apr 21 23:11:29 vboxDaemon: (389) [PLATFORM] [E] PGMDATAi_ProcessPackets(0): ERROR !!! CAN'T GET Free buffer from adptse !!!
Apr 21 23:11:29 ManageApp: (496) [MANG_APP] [A] Manage page 0 exited
Apr 21 23:11:29 vboxDaemon: (589) [VBADPTSE] [C] ADPTSE_GetFreeBuffer() - no more free buffers left for tuner=0 slotNum=0
Apr 21 23:11:29 vboxDaemon: (589) [PLATFORM] [E] PGMDATAi_ProcessPackets(0): ERROR !!! CAN'T GET Free buffer from adptse !!!

Re: System hangs

Posted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 12:49 pm
by admin@vbox
Hi @tarmacalastair
Unfortunately this log tells the result but not the cause.
Here is what I need.
1. Please let us know what browser you are using
2. Please cancel the request to run quick setup and go to Backup and restore - and reset your VBox to factory default
3. Run quick setup
4. Go to logging setting and set number of log files to 5
5. Once your VBox setup is completed - run backup and save it on your PC/Mac
6. Reproduce the issue
7. Immediately once the issue is reproduced - go to logging setting and at the bottom of the page select "Save Log Files and Configuration" and " Include Programs data" and press save
8. Send us both the log file and the backup file

Re: System hangs

Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:12 am
by tarmacalastair
Hi Support,

Just now, while trying out the command you suggested for this: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=78 ,
my system has hung again. No recordings are trying to run, I was not browsing the guide or running LiveTV or anything.
My browser is Firefox 53 running on Ubuntu 16.04.

I've saved the logs and will email them to you.

Thanks

Re: System hangs

Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:33 pm
by tarmacalastair
It's just hung again with the Quick Setup screen appearing when I navigate to the System page.

Once it settles after a few minutes, I can click Cancel on the Quick Setup prompt and then navigate to other pages.
This time I went to the Services page and notice that the Streaming service was stopped. Now I've done this, the box seems to be responding again....
I can navigate to the System page and all appears to be well again.

Re: System hangs

Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 1:07 pm
by admin@vbox
Thanks for sending the log, I have passed it to the R&D for review, I will get back to you once I hear back from them

Re: System hangs

Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 10:00 am
by tarmacalastair
Any news on this please?

Just returned from a weekend away to find all my recordings failed. Have logged this at viewtopic.php?f=11&t=111

Re: System hangs

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:36 am
by OrlandoM
admine@vbox wrote:
Tue Apr 25, 2017 1:07 pm
Thanks for sending the log, I have passed on prosolution plus it to the R&D for review, I will get back to you once I hear back from them
Hi Alastair is this still a problem for you?

Re: System hangs

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 12:17 pm
by tarmacalastair
Hi, yes from time to time it does hang. I've found that if I restart it, either via the web GUI, if it responds, or by pulling the plug if not, then it seems to work again. Sometimes I've managed to navigate to the services page and just restart the Streaming service - quicker than a restart.

Can I have an update please???? Re: System hangs

Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:31 pm
by tarmacalastair
Can I have an update please?

Having answered OrlandoM's question only yesterday my VBox has just hung again today (with the same symptoms as the screenshot I posted on 21 April), missing 2 recordings completely while I was out.

This is extremely annoying as I bought the Vbox for improved reliability over my DVB-T cards, not worse!

I have a further set of logs available for the Support people, if they ever read this forum.