Page 1 of 1

tuners showing no lock

Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 8:32 am
by techdoctor
Vbox and SW in my signature.
After sorting out my network problems. The Vbox has steadily been losing tuner lock. First tuner 4 lost lock, then tuner 3 (which I assume its a power saving function) and then two days ago all tuners lost lock. Tried rebooting several times.
Did think it might be a cabling problem, but won't be able to try a new cable until Monday.
Anything else I can try.

Re: tuners showing no lock

Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 7:30 am
by admin@vbox
Hi @techdoctor
It's ok for the VBox to lose lock - however the VBox should resume its lock whenever there is a channel viewing/recording request
If it is unable to lock, I suggest the following
1. Go to services to make sure that all services are up and running (except from BROADBAND_SNMP which is disabled by default)
2. try to watch a channel
3. If the VBox doesn't lock - try to reboot the VBox by going to the web interface (Shutdown) and press on the restart button
4. Try to watch a channel - if this doesn't work, it may be a reception issue

Re: tuners showing no lock

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:25 pm
by techdoctor
Sorry for not contacting sooner. I am rather busy at the moment. So won't be able to do too much until this weekend.

Re: tuners showing no lock

Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 7:56 am
by admin@vbox
No problems we are here

Re: tuners showing no lock  SOLVED

Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:18 pm
by techdoctor
Finally tracked the problem down to the cable from the lnb. Ran a 10m test cable to my workshop and the vbox worked fine with tuners showing lock. And able to stream to my Linux laptop.
Just got to buy 60m of sat cable now.

Re: tuners showing no lock

Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 8:24 am
by admin@vbox
Wow thanks for sharing, sounds like you've made some digging

Re: tuners showing no lock

Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 6:46 pm
by techdoctor
Just put in the new cable from LNB to Vbox. Everything working fine.
Just need to sort out a few network gliches now. I guess moving into a house where the cabling has been done by somebody else is always going have issues.
Many thanks for all your help.