Firetv & Kodi (Multiple instances)

Live TV, EPG, Recordings, Pay TV CAM, Remote Access and other issues
JonBest
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:44 pm

Firetv & Kodi (Multiple instances)

Post by JonBest » Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:44 am

I have an issue where I cannot run two Fire tv boxes with Kodi together. When I try playback on the second Kodi it stutters and is unwatchable. If I stop playback on the first Kodi it then works fine.

What is strange is that this only appears to affect Firetv. If I try running a second Kodi from my phone the playback is fine, if I try playing a second device with the VBox app it is fine?

Tags:

User avatar
admin@vbox
Site Admin
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 11:20 am

Re: Firetv & Kodi (Multiple instances)

Post by admin@vbox » Sun Feb 04, 2018 7:18 am

Do you connect your FireTV over WiFi or LAN?
When trying on a different device, do you try watching the same channel that failed on the Fire TV?
What app are you using on the Fire TV - VBox live TV or Kodi - try to use both see if you have the same issue

JonBest
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: Firetv & Kodi (Multiple instances)

Post by JonBest » Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:55 am

Hi,

I'm using Lan for the Firetv's but i've tried Wifi also. I use Kodi on them both and see the same issue when streaming the same channel & when streaming a different one on each. If I use the Vbox app there is no problem with the picture but the sound keeps stuttering when using the app....This happens even when it is the only device streaming?

If I use Kodi on my phone as a second device there is no issue so it seems to only happen on the Firetv's.

User avatar
admin@vbox
Site Admin
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 11:20 am

Re: Firetv & Kodi (Multiple instances)

Post by admin@vbox » Sun Feb 11, 2018 7:58 am

This is very strange, when a device is requesting a channel, the VBox simply tunes into that channel and stream it, as it keeps the full broadcast quality and original encoding, there isn't really any difference between streaming to one device or another.

Can you try to record 1 channel and watch a second one on your FireTV
What are the two channel quality - SD/ full HD/ 4K?
Can you try connecting 1 FireTV over WiFi and the other over LAN?

cubimol
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:52 am

Re: Firetv & Kodi (Multiple instances)

Post by cubimol » Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:29 pm

Most likely, both devices have the same IP address within the network

JonBest
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: Firetv & Kodi (Multiple instances)

Post by JonBest » Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:37 pm

Sorry for the delay in responding to this i've been away.

Its definitely not the same ip on the devices, I use the firetvs to stream all my home media aside from the Vbox and it would not function if that was the case.

I'll try the recording request tonight and come back to you on that one.

I have tried using one on wifi and the other on the lan but the issue remains. Since I returned I have been using the VBox app on one of the fire tvs as a workaround for the time being and not encountered the audio issues again so thats good (another reason I know it isn't an ip issue).

But I still cannot use Kodi on both at the same time.

JonBest
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: Firetv & Kodi (Multiple instances)

Post by JonBest » Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:05 pm

Recording one channel and viewing another works no problem

JonBest
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: Firetv & Kodi (Multiple instances)

Post by JonBest » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:32 am

This is still an issue, I would like to continue troubleshooting on this, do I need to open a support ticket instead of reporting this here??

User avatar
VBsupport
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 12:42 pm

Re: Firetv & Kodi (Multiple instances)

Post by VBsupport » Thu Apr 12, 2018 7:57 am

hello john

please feel free to contact our support.

we will do our best to help you resolve it

best regards

vbox support

wwwdotrichdotcom
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:46 am

Re: Firetv & Kodi (Multiple instances)

Post by wwwdotrichdotcom » Sat Apr 14, 2018 12:38 pm

+1 I’m having exactly the same issue. Have just purchased aftv gen3 and wired Ethernet adapter as I thought maybe a wireless issue however, I have (literally) just run new cat5 cable from router and tested, but still stuttering... still running fine on first device.

Post Reply