Kodi krypton app buggy

Live TV, EPG, Recordings, Pay TV CAM, Remote Access and other issues
Post Reply
Lee
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:36 pm

Kodi krypton app buggy

Post by Lee » Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:48 pm

Hi. Since updating to kodi krypton I've had varying success in getting it working. First time I installed it kodi became very slow and crashed from time to time. After starting a fresh I now won't load the prv client but opens the dialogue box saying getting guild but stays at 0%. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks

lgnch
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:56 pm

Re: Kodi krypton app buggy

Post by lgnch » Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:17 pm

Are you running it on windows 10? I have found that the windows 10 store version is a little slower on updates, and some issues have arisen but these are usually with the Kodi app not the VBOX. Are you using the VBox plugin with the VBox? It is unclear if you are using a VBox or if your question is about Kodi, if it is about Kodi you should put the issue forward in their help forums. If you are having trouble with the VBox plugin, can you post the OS version you are using?

Lee
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:36 pm

Re: Kodi krypton app buggy

Post by Lee » Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:25 pm

Hi. I'm using the vbox plugin on kodi on a android box. Kodi runs fine until I enable the plug in then goes ok again if I disable it. It worked fine with Jarvis. Thank for help

lgnch
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:56 pm

Re: Kodi krypton app buggy

Post by lgnch » Fri Mar 24, 2017 7:50 pm

I doubt it is the app as I have tested on Kodi Krypton without incident, so bear with me as I work through some diagnostic tests with you to try and help. What version of android OS?

Have a look at your VBox config in Kodi and make sure it is connecting to the correct ip and ports: defaults are port 80 and 55555 as long as you have nto changed them then these should be entered in the first tab - not the external tab. If these settings are correct, double check it with the VBox app in teh google store. If the VBox app works fine then it is another issue and we can keep looking. If it does not, then check your wireless router. I have found that some older routers do not handle unicast well and needs to be updated to modern Ethernet protocols. I recommend the ASUS gaming wireless routers a/g/n 5Ghz and 2.4Ghz for best performance, but any brand with as close to specs will do.

Try this and get back to me with the results.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest